#TBT : My First Radio Interview

When I was studying at Syracuse University‘s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, I eventually presided over a communications group called Black Communications Society (BCS). One of the most memorable events we hosted wasย  “An Evening with Spike Lee” after showing his award-winning film “When the Levees Broke”. It’s one of the biggest highlights of my college career. Above is the radio interview (my very first!) to promote the event.

BSCSL

(My sister and I during the private reception following Spike Lee‘s speech at the Oncenter in Syracuse, NY. Fall 2008)

Since I’m reminiscing, below are pictures of other events that Black Communications Society hosted at Syracuse University.

BSCSLT

(My first event with my idol Susan L. Taylor, former editor-in-chief of ESSENCE. I read her column religiously every month as a child. Fall 2006)

BCSG

(Me with dope neo-soul artist Goapele. Spring 2007)

BSCSLR

(Sheryl Lee Ralph performed some great monologues portraying characters who suffered from HIV/AIDS. Incredible performances. Spring 2008)

BCSHB

(Me embracing award-winning singer, actor and social activist Harry Belafonte (a living legend) after my last event.ย  Fall 2009. Bittersweet. It was my senior year.)

BSCGS

(Not a BCS event, but I also met Gloria Steinem during a private reception at Syracuse University.)

I had great moments at Syracuse University, and these events are not even the half of it.

-Sd

Leave a Reply

